Harvard CAMLab


Seminar | Aesthetic and Iconographic Borrowings of Characters from Buddhist Legend from Hellenistic Characters: Appropriation and Transformation of Identity

   
Date & Time:


December 16th 9am EST / 3pm CET / 10pm CST   


Guest Speakers: 


Dr. Alexandra Vanleene

Gandhara Project Academic Advisor at Harvard CAMLab; Operation Manager function of the French Archaeological Mission in Bāmiyān, 2005-2012.


Gandhara art takes on many faces. It results from an intimate combination of local and foreign artistic influences, notably Indian, Central Asian, and Hellenistic. What aspects are involved in these borrowings? How does this tell us how the artists perceived foreign models, what they saw in them, and what they retained and did not? Finally, what motivated their aesthetic choices? These questions will be addressed by studying a few characters from Buddhist legend whose appearance has been strongly influenced by Hellenistic art.


Note: [This lecture will be presented in English with simultaneous translations to Mandarin Chinese. ]

This event is free to public via Zoom but advance registration is required. .




︎ ︎  @HarvardCAMLab